Flami Kapaya

Africa, Documentary, Leprosy, Music

I hadn’t really done much video work at this point in my life; I’d only recorded snippets every now and then. Anyway, I came across a young man fiddling with a homemade guitar outside the house of a leprosy patient I’d been interviewing. I asked him if he minded me recording. He happily complied and launched into a song – his voice was a welcome surprise. I heard this once. I didn’t hear him play anything else.

This is that recording. I tend not to travel with much cash, but paid him about $16 – what I told him I’d pay to download an album of his.

Most of the people in the video have had leprosy. Find out more about some of the individuals and leprosy in general at isleprosyeliminated.com.

Leave a Reply

