When I had patches

Documentary, India, Leprosy

I took this photo at Vadala Mission Hospital in India. The man preferred not to be named, but was willing to write out some of his thoughts and feelings on a print I got done at a cheap digital printing store in town. He has an MA in History and owns an agricultural store. On the left is Dr Prabhakar, the head of the leprosy program at Vadala. On the right is Ramesh, a Social Worker at Vadala.

The translation is below.

When I had patches

When I had patches, if I had received MDT I would not have gotten the deformities.

In spite of my education, I did not know that anaesthetic patches are a symptom of leprosy.

If I had been examined and detected when I had patches I would not have deformities.

All the members of my family know that I have leprosy. However I have not told anyone else.

There should be public awareness done.

I have ulcers on my feet for which I take medicine and treatment.

Leave a Reply

