Things I’ve seen so far in Ghana…

Africa, travel

So I thought I’d share a few of the sights I’ve seen over the past couple of weeks. Having travelled quite a bit you get used to the way of life, the way people act, the normalities over here that are completely at odds with life back in England. Though I still marvel at it, I do forget that many people haven’t seen life like this.

Idris, who is the National Director for MAP International planned our first 10 days. I say our, for that time I was travelling with one Barkley Sippel, who works at American Leprosy Missions’ headquarters. He is on a field visit, and since I’m going to be photographing a lot of the work ALM are doing in Ghana (via MAP) it made sense for us to coordinate our arrival for the same time. This is also Barkley’s first visit to Africa, in fact outside of the US I believe. Ghana, from what I can tell is a superb introduction to West Africa. Compared to many places it’s very well developed, easy to get around, good infrastructure, everyone is very welcoming, and it’s not nearly chaotic and alien (compared to the western world) as other countries. However, it’s all relative.

Here are a few photos from those first 10 days.

Slave Castle, Cape Coast. We joined the tourist pack. American students I think. Interesting history with the slave castle. Didn’t make you wholly proud to be British.

Slave Castle, Cape Coast. The tourist pack gets their photo taken by our guide. He seemed a bit lecherous to me… and also had a habit of photographing while walking instead of standing still. It didn’t work. The photos he took were rubbish.

Some guy making an offering at a shrine in the Slave Castle, Cape Coast. So I’m not entirely sure who he was, but initially he wanted money for us to take photos of him. When no-one offered he gave up and said we could take photos anyway. I’m not sure why there are so many empty gin bottles on the empty shrine. Perhaps part of our British colonial legacy. Something to be proud of finally. Couldn’t see the empty tonics/bitter lemon bottles though…

Tourists in the Slave Castle, Cape Coast.

Fishing, Cape Coast.

Treetop walk, somewhere near Cape Coast. This was quite fun, apparently a bunch of Canadians came over here 17 years ago to build a series of treetop walkways. Some were 35 metres off the ground and despite us being assured they were safe they still wobbled a lot. Or maybe that was us.

Hawkers, Accra. One thing I do love about the car journeys is that you can just buy stuff out the window. Bag of groundnuts, bottle of water, phone top-up, massive loaf of bread…

Hawkers, Accra. Or perhaps some plug converters? Barkley wasn’t persuaded.

Barkley outside a restaurant, Kumasi.

THV (Total Health Village), near Sunyani. This is one of the villages that MAP International has been working with, making sure that life there is good health and sanitation-wise. This village has now been deemed malaria-free.

THV, near Sunyani. The village and the elders gather to meet us. They show us a box, which contains community contributions. I think it’s then invested somehow and people get a nice little return from their investment. Made sense at the time.

THV, near Sunyani. Loads of kids.

Restaurant, Goaso. Little dark, but you might be able to make out my lunch… fried plantain and beans. Barkley is on the left, with Idris in the centre, and our other ‘MAP’ friend Ophelia on the right.

A baby in a shower cap in church, Sunyani. And by the looks of it the baby has just discovered a mirror.

Opelia, Idris and Barkley, Dormaa.

School kids walking to take their end of year examinations, Kukuom.

After a funeral, Kukuom. I have never seen so many funerals in the last week or so. Probably more than the rest of my life put together. When I was in Bring-Ahafo it was about two or three a day. I’m not sure it was necessarily reflective on the amount of people dying, more the length of time people ‘celebrate’ them. Anyway one highlight was letting a bunch of ladies hitch a lift in the back of our truck after a funeral. Loads of ’em, grinning from ear to ear. Must have been a great funeral…

A goat surveying his house, Dormaa.

People stand around to gawp at the white men, Kukuom.

Dormaa.

Sign on the road, near Goaso. As far as I can make out this sign is instructing birds not to play the trumpet.

Just another slanty vehicle, Dormaa.

Drying cocoa beans, somewhere in Sunafo South District.

Street, Goaso. One evening we had the most incredible yellow light. Came and went in about 20 minutes.

Night market, Goaso.

So there we go. You’ll have to look up where most of these places are, but essentially the vast majority are from the Brong-Ahafo region. Currently I’m back near Cape Coast in the small town of Ankaful. This post also took 7 hours to upload. Don’t tell me I should be out photographing instead… right I’m off to make a few more pictures.

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve seen so far in Ghana…

Leave a Reply

