Virunga Mountain Gorillas

Africa, Documentary, Landscape, Wildlife

Once again, I must apologise that  it’s been so long since my last post. Plenty has happened since I last posted, I’m now living temporarily back in London and I have plenty of work ahead of me for the next 7 weeks – organising, pitching, researching and enjoying fast internet and cheese.

This last week I’ve predominantly been combing through the past 9 months of photographs (almost 70,000). Pretty much all of them are stories about humans and the trials that have beset them in life. These don’t necessarily have negative ends to them (many of the stories are inspiring), however it was nice to sift through my photographs of mountain gorillas taken in the Virunga National Park in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The story I was doing was in fact on what Virunga has to offer to tourists. Personally I wasn’t a huge fan of the images I produced for it.

But the photographs of the mountain gorillas I encountered (on the two visits I made to see them) have a completely different look – calm, tranquil and a feeling that is much closer to what I remember it actually being like to be present there. Human conservation efforts have meant that these creatures, quite unique to this area of Africa (you won’t even find them in captivity outside of the DRC), are alive and for a fee accessible to the curious public. Seeing them in the flesh happily inhabiting their habitat, completely unbothered by a handful of nosy homo sapiens is one of the most wonderful experiences I’ve had so far on this earth… I’m looking forward to making some large prints of some of the following in a week or so.

2 thoughts on “Virunga Mountain Gorillas

  1. Very Cool Tom. I would love to tag along with you sometime. (DRC etc, not London. I have fast enough internet and enough cheese that I don’t need London. Sorry all you London lovers. I’m really not fond of cities in general) Seriously though love your pics. Would love to “read” more of your experiences.

Leave a Reply

