Landscapes in Nepal and Nigeria

travel

I’ve got an exhibition of the photos I took in Nepal and Nigeria coming up (details tba), and among some of the photos will be some landscape ones to give a wider view of the places these people live. Here’s a sneak preview.

This photo above is of Khokana leprosy colony just outside Kathmandu in Nepal. It’s seclusion from other settlements is surprisingly blatant in such a crowded area of the country.

At first glance this could be a village on an African beach a stones throw away from the Indian ocean; dry sand and palm trees are not the first thing you associate with Nepal. To the locals however, the sun and dust just mean a prolonging of the drought… when I took this photo they hadn’t had rain in 7 months.

On many of my evenings at Lalgadh Leprosy Services Centre in Nepal I climbed up the water tower to watch the sunset. Because of the dust the sunsets weren’t at all dramatic, just a dull red ball that faded out before it even dropped below the horizon. This is the opposite bank of the dried-up river Lalgadh rests on. Once the Monsoon comes however, the river carries the melted ice from the Himalayas and it becomes a churning torrent that is extremely dangerous to approach.

This is Zuma Rock, a great monolith that is Nigeria’s version of Ayer’s Rock in Australia. This was one of the first photos I took in Nigeria as I was driven from Abuja where I landed to Minna in Niger state where The Leprosy Mission HQ was.

This is Okegbala leprosy community in Kwara state where I stayed for 10 days. Many houses proudly stand their aerials, despite not having a television or electricity for 6 months since a transformer at the local power station blew. The government has still not fixed it.

 

I only got to visit Oyi for a few days, and because I wasn’t able to stay in the village I stayed a few miles away in a hotel with a wonderful hill behind it. I was half way up when I noticed this boy following me. It shows just how green and lush the grass was around it.

I visited Kuta in Niger state for only a few hours. I saw these two boys passing their time by pushing each other around in wheelbarrows.

Leave a Reply

